Knowing God – Evidence of Knowing God

What are some other evidences in my life that point to me knowing God? As we continue in Chapter 2, Packer lists 4 examples of how we can see evidence of someone actively knowing God.

1. Those who know God have great energy for God. This is so true as I look at the people I have known over the years who were actively knowing God. They seem to have a never ending supply of energy in serving others or taking part in anything related to doing “God’s work”. As I look at my own life I realize that the same holds true for me. When I am truly in God’s will, seeking His path for my life and taking part in serving others, I am always amazed by the energy I have. I can be tired from the week but given an opportunity to do something for God and I am ready to go with renewed strength and energy. Knowing this, how is it so easy for me to forget this! Selfishness if I am honest with myself; making it about me and what I want to do or not do as the case may be! and it’s easy to think about serving others as I look at this energy thing but it’s more than that – prayer, study, meditation, are other things that are easier when in God’s will. It feeds off itself. You study, you learn more about God, pray for wisdom to learn how to apply what you have learned to your life, then meditate on these things allowing God to speak to you and then live it.

2. Those who know God have great thoughts of God. Ask most Christians and they will tell you how great God is but look at their lives and they don’t live like they believe God is great. Packer uses the story of Daniel to illustrate these 4 points. Daniel knew his God was Great!! He had a great energy for God and he had great thoughts of God as well. Packer points out that history of the world is nothing more than “His-story” (God’s Story), eternal plan unfolding over the course of time and when all is said and done, it will be God’s kingdom that will triumph in the end. This truth is scattered all throughout the book of Daniel. In knowing this, do we as Christians live this truth in our thought life? Would others describe us as having great thoughts of God?  I challenge you to read Daniel 2:20-22 and understand that this a prayer being offered by Daniel. What do our prayers sound like? And then in Daniel 9, read verses 4, 7, 9 and 14. Daniel had great thoughts of God, not just when in trouble but always.

3. Those who know God show great boldness for God. How bold have I ever been for God? how bold have you been for God? I promise you, I have never been faced with anything like Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were. Or how about the young lady at Columbine High School. With a gun to her head, the shooter asked her to denounce Christ and she would live. She chose Christ and was present with Him shortly after doing so. To have that kind of boldness, Lord, that is my prayer, right here, right now! That no matter what I may face, I would be bold to stand for you no matter the outcome!! I have nothing left for this point. May God strengthen us to be bold in all facets of our lives that others may see Him in us!!

4. Those who know God have great contentment in God.  Packer states “There is no peace like the peace of those whose minds are possessed with full assurance that they have known God, and God has known them, and that this relationship guarantees God’s favor to them in life, through death and on forever. ” As I read and think about this statement, I find myself thinking of Tim Tebow and the incredible testimony he is living out for ALL the world to see.  Doesn’t he seem at great peace with everything going on around him. He doesn’t seem at all phased by all the hoopla going on around him. He just keeps going about his business and don’t miss this – Tebow’s business is living in God’s will.

Couple of things as I wrap up this post. I think number is 4 is huge for me personally for when I am contented with God, the rest of my life seems to be in balance. Not that things are perfect but that I have a peace about life. I belong to Him, and He is free to do with me whatever He will. My desire is to live a long life that I may see my kids and grand kids grow as old as me while Lisa and I spend our days on a sunny beach somewhere. That may not be God’s plan for my life. So my prayer for myself is that I can live the rest of my days living by these 4 principles.

Peace and thanks for reading!

One thought on “Knowing God – Evidence of Knowing God

Leave a comment