It’s never easy to say goodbye to those we love. Especially, a parent, spouse or child. At 72 years of age, my mother went to be with the Lord and loved ones who have already gone before. Seventy-two? I use to think that number sounded so old but realize now, just how young that number sounds, now that I’m 51. I realize of course, how fortunate I am to have had mom with me all this time but it doesn’t make saying goodbye any easier.

Truth is, my mom left several years ago – not to death but to something much worse; Alzheimers. If you never been affected by this horrible disease, my friend, count your blessings! Too see someone stripped of all their life’s memories is truly a horrific thing to watch take place. My sincerest prayer is that none of you, who may read this will be faced with this most dispicable of diseases.

My mom was an incredible woman. Beautiful, smart, funny, and a fighter! Her love of life and all it holds is what I hope to never forget about her. She was truly an incredible cook, loved music and dancing, and was a pretty good card player as well. But where she excelled and demonstrated all of her greatest attributes was in the way she loved her family.

Along with my dad, they taught me that love was a verb and not something you just talked about doing. No, my sister and I saw loved played out and demonstrated for us as we saw how they loved each other and in turn, loved us! My parents were not rich but my sister and I never did without, as they would sacrifice a lot of things on our behalf. Although neither one of them were perfect people, their love seemed perfect and sustained them for 53 plus years!

Today, I said goodbye to my mom. 72 is too soon, much too soon to say goodbye but that is what I have done. Like mom, I am very much at peace, as I know that this day and every day forward, my mom is restored and whole once again. Although I will greive her loss in the days, months and years to come, I take great comfort in knowing that the lessons she has taught me over the past 50 years will sustain me until I am reunited with her and other loved ones in a day yet to come.

Until then, I’ll think of her whenever I listen to classic country or some old 50’s hit from days gone by. Whenever I have the chance to take my wife’s hand and lead her onto the dance floor, I’ll remember my mom and thank her for taking the time to teach me how to dance – as I recollect, one of the first songs I learned to dance to, was Surfin USA by the Beach Boys. Elvis Presley will always be my favorite artist as it was mom’s! I can’t begin to recall the countless hours we spent dancing to Elvis and his old 45’s. For you youngsters reading this, you will probably have to ask your grandparents what a 45 is.

72 is too soon, much too soon for anyone to lose their life but on the other hand, for some, 72 years is all that is needed to leave a legacy that will last for generations too come!! For now, and evermore, mom is at peace and happy. And one day, not too soon I hope, I will see her again and we will dance and sing once more and evermore! Love you Mom!!

Scott