I am doing a 40 day devotional series with Dietrich Bonhoeffer. I thought as I do so, I would take the opportunity to journal as I travel through this 40 day journey. This is primarily for me, but hopefully, there will be something that others can learn as they follow along. You can create your own journal and do your own devotional through Biblegateway. The link to the devotional is here – 40 Day Journey – with Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Day 1 – so day 1 starts with a familiar passage, one that we often times see on bumper stickers and hear preached from the pulpit at least a couple of times a year.

Matthew 11:28-30 – 28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

These three verses make up the greatest challenge for the Christ follower. Submission to take on Christ’s burden. On the surface, anyone who reads it thinks sure, sign me up for that. Who doesn’t want to have rest? The promise of an easy and light burden to carry forth seems quite attractive, especially the older we get. But what is the yoke? the burden? If it’s so easy and light, how come we don’t see more people who are content, or seem at peace with life?

I’m not a Bible scholar but the yoke for me or the burden is for me to follow Christ wherever He leads and while doing so, loving others and sharing with them, the truths about Jesus. In all three of these areas, I fail more times than not. At times, I know that I am following the path that Christ has for me to follow and there is a wonderful sense of peace and contentment. There are also times where I look at my day and see how I was able to demonstrate love through encouragement, physically helping or just being a good listener for someone. My greatest area of weakness, is my willingness to share the truths about Jesus. I’ve had moments where I’ve been able to share my story of what Christ has done for me or been given the opportunity to teach and engage others about our savior. But far too often, I ignore the promptings and let the moment pass.

In John 15:1212 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.

There’s the burden, just one command that seemingly trips all of us up. Just love each other and you will find rest in Jesus. For the Christ follower we have already experienced Christ’s love for us in accepting that He chose to die for our sins and we commit ourselves to be His disciples. Yet, we tend to complicate everything by forgetting to keep it simple. We self impose standards that we can’t meet or worse, allow others to impose their standards on us and therefore get caught up in one burden after another trying to achieve an unattainable goal.

There is but one standard to strive for and that is Jesus. It really is true that for a lot of people, we represent who Jesus is and what He’s about. I pray that this day forward, that all who cross my path will see through me, that Jesus loves them and that He wants to have a personal relationship with each of them.

One component that I’m thinking about as I wrap this post up is my willingness to follow Jesus….wherever that may lead. How willing am I to truly do this? I will write more on this tomorrow but for now I need to think on this question for the remainder of today.

Peace and thanks for reading!!

Scott